HAZAK

Order Your 2019 Mah Jongg Cards HERE!

HAZAK provides programming and activities for TBS members who are 55+. Meetings are usually the third Thursday of each month at 1 pm with occasional Sunday morning or evening programs to enable those who are working or otherwise scheduled to participate.

HAZAK aims to complement TBS' Adult Education Programs with additional social, educational, and spiritual activities. HAZAK also reaches out to other congregations in our region for joint activities and programming. Our mature adults continue to learn and to be a vital part of the TBS and South Jersey communities.

For more information contact HAZAK President, Lyn Stein.

Hazak Calendar of Events 2018-19

Thursday, October 18 at 12 pm - Help us kick off the New Year!! Our Opening Luncheon, enjoy the talents of educator and musician Phil Bruschi presenting the “Songs of Neil Diamond”

Thursday, November 8 at 1pm - Dr. Nick Eiteljorg discusses Archaeology: Helping the Past Speak to Us. Presented in conjunction with the Penn Museum International Classroom Program

Wednesday, November 14  at 11am -  Hazak on the Road to the Arts, Books and Culture Festival at the Katz JCC - Finding Yourself: A Spiritual Journey, moderated by Cantor Cohen

Monday, November 26 at 7 pm - TBS Bioethics Initiative - The Right to Try: The Ethics of Experimental Drugs with Steven Joffe, MD, MPH

Thursday, December 20 at 1pm - Chaim Lauer will present “Bubbe Meises: Jewish Superstitions and Folklore” Tikvah Chapter of Camden County Hadassah joins Hazak as a co-sponsor.

Saturday, December 22 at 9:30 am - Hazak Shabbat - Volunteer to participate and attend!

Monday, December 24 at 6:30 pm - Hazak on the Road to Laughter & Lo Mein at the Katz JCC

Thursday, January 17 at 1pm - Judy Okun describes “ Myth, Trade and Luxury—the Allure of Spice Since Ancient Times on the Silk Road/Spice Routes”

Thursday, January 24, 31, February 7 at 12 pm - Broadcast Learning Series - Israeli Music and National Culture: An Ethnomusicological Exploration

Sunday, February 10 at 2pm - Sisterhood and Hazak presents Screnci: The Curtain is Rising on the talents of Rodgers and Hammerstein  

Thursday, February 21 at 1 pm - Abby King, PAFA Banerjee, “Make Me a Summary of the World”

Sunday, March 17 at 2 pm - The Bob and Estelle Richter Hazak Fund presents a special presentation of soprano Sarah Baumgarten: “The Jewish Tradition on Broadway” Details to follow

Thursday, April 4 at 1pm - Rabbi Peltz: “Highlights from my Favorite Haggadot”

Sunday, May 5 at 1pm - 'Hazak on the Road' Spring Trip NYC licensed Tour Guide, Jon Goldstein will guide Hazak through the lower east side. As a special surprise a Historical Reenactor will join us on our visit.

Thursday, May 16 at 1 pm - Dr. Benjamin Sax, the Jewish Scholar at the Institute for Islamic, Christian, and Jewish Studies, will discuss Islamophobia

Thursday, June 20 at 12 pm - Closing Luncheon  Moylan Mills celebrates “Leonard Bernstein Life and Music”