HAZAK provides programming and activities for TBS members who are 55+. Meetings are usually the third Thursday of each month at 1 pm with occasional Sunday morning or evening programs to enable those who are working or otherwise scheduled to participate.

HAZAK aims to complement TBS' Adult Education Programs with additional social, educational, and spiritual activities. HAZAK also reaches out to other congregations in our region for joint activities and programming. Our mature adults continue to learn and to be a vital part of the TBS and South Jersey communities.

For more information contact HAZAK President, Alan Blocher.

HAZAK Calendar of Events for 2015-16

Thursday, October 15, 12 pm -- Opening luncheon meeting... A conversation with Buntzie Ellis Churchill

October 30 - November 1 -- TBS Scholar in Residence weekend

Monday, November 16, 6:30 pm -- Joint Sisterhood/HAZAK game night

Thursday, November 19 -- Tribute Dinner honoring Miriam & Alan Feldman, Debbie & Shawn Ravitz and Alvin Stern

Thursday, December 3 -- HAZAK on the Road to Stedman Gallery at Rutgers Camden

Sunday, December 20, 9:15 am -- Brunch hosted by HAZAK and Sisterhood... guest speaker Linda Recht Watts, Diplomat, US State Department, Foreign Service Officer

Thursday, December 24 -- Evening at the JCC, Laughter & Lomein comedy and Chinese dinner

Saturday, December 26, 9:30 am -- HAZAK Shabbat, stay for Kiddush

Thursday, January 21, 1 pm -- Moylan Mills, PhD - A Spotlight on the Oscars

Thursday, February 18, 1 pm -- Dr. Jerry Erhlich - Humanitarian Aid, The Doctors without Borders mission

Thursday, March 17, 1 pm -- Dr. Marvin Herring presents A Jewish History of Pain and Suffering from Biblical to Modern Times

Thursday, April 14, 1 pm -- Fran Schwartz, pianist and lecturer

Thursday, May 19, 1 pm -- Herb Kaufman, historian of the Civil War

Thursday, June 16, 12 pm -- Installation Closing Luncheon and Debbie Zimmerman presents When Life Gives You Lemons... Make Lemoncello

Watch for details...

  • All-day spring bus trip to Baltimore
  • Two session film series planned by Mort & Shirley Rubenstein and Harriet Baker
  • HAZAK on the Road

Try a TBS Adult Education program -- Lunch & Learn and/or Soul Sisters in the Bible

For details about our events email Phyllis Goldstein or call 856-566-3373 (Programming Vice President).